Skip to main content

WIRED: Student Resources

5 minute activities

Subject posters

Assassins - book suggestions
Australian History book suggestions
Australian'a at War book recommendations
Back in time  - book suggestions
Book to film book recommendations
Books by celebrity authors
Dance book recommendations
Dear diary - book suggestions
Fantasy with a mystery book recommendations
Feel good reads - book suggestions
Books about mates and friendship
Music, musos and bands - book suggestions
Books about supervillians and superheroes
Survival - book suggestions
Books about people who approach life differently
Time travel - book suggestions
Books set in different parts of the world
Refugees
Books set somewhere in Victoria
Soccer book recommendations
Who dunnit books / murder mysteries
Zombie horror book recommendations

Read alikes

Read-alikes for Road to Winter
Finding Audrey read-alikes
Gone by Michael Grant read-alikes
So you liked... To all the boys I've loved before
So you liked... Wonder
So you liked... Shadowhunters
So you liked... Once
So you liked... Ready player one

What is WIRED?

The Wide Interest Reading English Development (WIRED) program involves all Years 7 & 8.  

  • The program aims to develop a reading culture among adolescent girls and boys to improve their literacy comprehension strategies and engagement with texts.  
  • One lesson a week will be dedicated to this program.
  • It will be conducted by a Teacher Librarian and an English Teacher with the time spent discussing new books, favourite authors and genres.  
  • The majority of the lesson is dedicated to free voluntary reading

 

(Program used (adapted and modified) with permission from St Patrick' College, Ballarat)

 

 

Reviews and Reads

Books are...

Books are... by Grant Snider (Incidental Comics)

Reading Log

As part of WIRED you will need to fill in a Reading Log after every session, do goal setting and reflect upon your reading and learing.

Click here for the Reading Log

Libraries and Reading Lists